Uncategorized

Turn around

IMG_5474

We are brought up to look towards the future and the though of thinking about the past is rare. What will you be doing in 5 years, when will you get married, then you get married the next questions is, when will you have kids. There is something in all of us that drives us to the next thing in our lives. We rarely stop, look and listen to what is happening now. I certainly do it, my next gig is on the forefront of my mind on a daily basis.

This also goes for photography. The camera is always in front of us and we walk towards or zoom into the image we want to capture. Rarely do we stop, and turn around. What I mean by this is, if you are on a hike and you are pushing forward, camera in hand, you are consistently taking photos of what is in front of you and never thinking of what is behind you. This could be a missed opportunity!

While riding in the Land Rover in Tanzania, waiting on the cyclist to catch up, I was chatting away to Julius our guide. He was nice enough to open the roof of the SUV to allow me to photograph the surrounding landscape. I had been taking photos of the area facing forward. He slowed down and I turned around; the above image is what I captured. I didn’t even see where this girl came from but I would not have seen her at all if I didn’t turn around.

Leave a Reply

