Uncategorized

Live spherically!

Image

It begins when you are young. The question, what do you want to be when you grow up? From there, we are put into categories and boxes. The expectations extend from there. Make good grades, go to college, get a job, meet your spouse, have children and live a grand life. I know a few people who have followed this path and is works for them but for the rest of us we take the roads less traveled, hit bumps and curves along the way that are unexpected. Life can not be put into categories or boxes.

A few years ago, “Under the Tuscan Sun” was released and one of the lines was, “…live spherically”. This has always been in the back of my mind. I love to do so much, that I can not live my life doing just one career or hobby. I love to travel, meet new people, hike, kayak, volunteer, working as a photographer, and a many more activities which influence my life. Honestly, when I was younger, I couldn’t answer the questions of what do you want to be when you grow up. Because I love to do so much!

A lot of folks ask me straight away if I am a wedding photographer. This is an example of being put in a box. It use to really bother me that people would just assume this. I photograph weddings, yes, but is it the majority of my business, no. I now have to take a deep breath and explain that I am a freelance photographer who loves people, travel and events. I have been published in several diverse publications including http://www.nationalgeographic.com. I try to set myself apart from the rest by photographing everything that I love.  Living spherically has helped me with my business!  

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

