#travel, photography, Uncategorized

It’s all about the journey

It’s all about the journey not the destination, right? The journey to get to Europe is almost complete. Everything is booked from, plane tickets to places to stay. The itinerary is nicely filled in on an excel spreadsheet; which leaves me plenty of wiggle room to go off of the beaten path and to take my time to stop and explore. I am waiting on my currency to be exchanged from my bank which is 3 different ones: Euros, Pounds and the Koruna.

Right now I feel like an expert places to stay, which car hire (fancy for car rental) is the best deal and can navigate Airbnb, FlipKey, Hotels.com, Kayak. com, Ryanair and EasyJet like it is my job. I have priced matched about everything you can image and have splurged on a few things, like staying in a Castle in Galway, which by the way is the most expensive ($150)  and cost the same as the 5 other nights combined while staying in Ireland. But the reviews were overwhelmingly fantastic so I couldn’t pass it up.

I am delving into the local history of the places I plan on visiting, mapping out what to do and see, and even learning a bit of the local language from an app on my phone, Czech is an interesting language.

Below is my itinerary, it may look ambitious and just typing it out makes me tired. I have placed a small trip to see my friends in England which I think will be a perfect way to recharge from Ireland get the energy to visit Prague.

The itinerary is:  

 Day 1: Arrive in Dublin 5am : Drive to Wicklow, check into Bed n Breakfast, explore Wicklow National park for the day. ( IF I feel ambitious try to find a Kayaking outfitter)

Day 2: Drive to Glenbeigh from Wicklow: Stop to see Rock of Cashel and kilkenny

Day 3: Drive the Ring of Kerry : nothing planned for the day but to drive, stop and take photos

Day 4: Drive the Ring of Kerry: Visit Sneem and Waterville, Kilarney National Park, Muckross Castle and Ross Castle. Drive until I don’t want to but try to make it to Tralee

Day 5: Drive to Cliffs of Moher and to Galway. Stay in castle and visit downtown Galway

Day 6: Continue to visit Galway and drive to Ennis (early to be because my plane leaves the next day at 7am)

Day 7: Leave for England from Shannon Airport . Arrive at Stansted London Airport: Train to Cambridge to meet up with friends

Day 8 : HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME. I am not planning one damn thing. Most likely a day trip to the coast, with hopefully a drink or two or three or…

Day 9: Visit my friends village and plan on day drinking in town

Day 10: Still hanging with friend

Day 11: Fly from STN London to Prague. Plan arrives at 2:30pm. Make my way to my rented apartment, go to the store and hang around the neighborhood in which I am staying for 3 days.

Day 12: Putting on my walking shoes: (List is in no particular order)

Old Jewish Cemetery
Church of Our Lady
Dancing House
Prague Castle
St. Vitus Cathedral
Old Town Square
Prague astronomical clock
Wenceslas Square
Letna Beer Garden

Day 13: Day trip to Kutna Hora and a night at the National theater

Day 14: Bicycle Tour and a trip to the Beergarten which over looks the city.

Day 15: Fly to Dublin. Arrive in Dublin at 5:30pm and check in to BNB. Walk to Temple Bar: eat, drink and be merry…

Day 16: Day in Dublin: Guinness Brewery, See the book of Kells, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Dublin Castle and Iveagh Gardens. (Being a total tourist for the day)

Day 17: Fly home

 

 

Leave a Reply

