Travel

Life, rebooted.

 

As I write this, I sit in an airport in China waiting for my flight to Thailand; my flight here was 16 hours plus the 2 hours to fly from CHS to JFK and the 2 hours from China to BKK. When this is all over, I will have traveled around 27 hours and loosing an entire day. Thinking back on the preparations, the goodbye parties, the hugs and “see you soon”, I wonder, “Where did the time go?”.

The week leading up to the trip was spend with my family and friends. All was well until I went to the bank the day I left. I hand the teller a stack of cash from the sell of my car, along with money from a closed account, and funds my parents provided me as “Christmas money”.

As I make the transactions, my voice quivers and my hands shack. I mutter to myself, “What the fuck is wrong with me, this is ridiculous.” Upon hearing this, the teller asks me what is happening to do so much banking in one day. In one long word, I say, “Iammovingtothailand”

He just looks at me and says, “oh wow!”. I respond with something like… yeah, I know, holy shit, right?

So begins the journey to rebooting my life. Challenging myself to try new things, learn new ideals, and explore the world.

Leave a Reply

